top of page
Search
  • wz1340

Phase 1, Post #1: Introduction

Updated: Mar 9, 2020

Hello, my name is Weixiong and I am a sophomore at the NYU Tandon School of Engineering currently studying Computer Science.


I'm taking Diversity & Technology since I believe that as a programmer and a person in science, technology, and engineering, I have a responsibility to be educated on the issue of diversity in technology. In my field, for example, artificial intellgence is growing rapidly, and the issue of diversity emerges in algorithmic biases in large data sets.


At the moment, out of all the guest speakers and events we have lined up for the semester, I'm most interested in the trip to the Futureworks Makerspace at the Brooklyn Army Terminal. The place we will be traveling to seems to be the most relevant thing for me, and I'm looking forward to what we might be doing there.


As for the books I'm interested in, there are two books that I have briefly visited in the past that I'm looking forward to visiting again: Automating Inequality by Virginia Eubanks and Algorithms of Oppression by Safiya Umoja Noble. These two books express the problems with algorithms and deep learning that we are currently facing and need to overcome in society and this is something that I would love to explore further as a Computer Science major.

3 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Phase 2, Post #11

While technology has helped many places in the city urbanize, it can also cause problems for other places as well. In the presentation given by Michael Higgins, one notable and extremely familar examp

Phase 2, Post #10

During this presentation given by guest speaker Chris Woods from the NYU LGBTQ+ Center, we learned about the meaning of the acronym LGBTQ+ as well as explored more terms and definitions when referring

Phase 2, Post #9

In the presentation given, we examined the prison education program offered by NYU. During this talk, we examined the programs mission to give the incarcerated the abilities and skillset to hopefully

Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page